Why HALT is not HALT


An excellent short white paper by Craig Hillman that is worth reading. It underscores whey I claim HALT is the second worst 4 letter acronym in our profession. See the paper at http://www.dfrsolutions.com/uploads/white-papers/Why_HALT_Is_Not_HALT.pdf

This entry was posted in V. Reliability Testing and tagged by Fred Schenkelberg. Bookmark the permalink.

About Fred Schenkelberg

I am an experienced reliability engineering and management consultant with FMS Reliability, a consulting firm I founded in 2004. I left Hewlett Packard (HP)’s Reliability Team, where I helped create a culture of reliability across the organization, to assist other organizations. Given the scope of my work, I am considered an international authority on reliability engineering. My passion is working with teams to improve product reliability, customer satisfaction, and efficiencies in product development; and to reduce product risk and warranty costs. I have a Bachelor of Science in Physics from the United States Military Academy and a Master of Science in Statistics from Stanford University.

2 thoughts on “Why HALT is not HALT

  1. Good article. From my point of view, there are benefits to perform HALT (or HAST) plus ALT. The first one can be used to better understand the product operation limits and the second can predict some failures which is more suscetible for humidity + temperature accelerating factors. Therefore, HALT/HAST and ALT combined can give more confidence to have a reliable design to apply in the market.

Leave a Reply

